Is anyone into martial arts?

OT: anything goes!

Moderator: Edi

Next of Kin
Rabid Monkey

Is anyone into martial arts?

Post by Next of Kin »

Does anyone practice martial arts? If so, what is your favourite style. If not, would you ever thinking of taking it up as a hobby?

As for myself I've been practicing aikido for the last 2 years. I'm an orange belt with dreams of getting a green belt some time down the road. A couple months ago I picked up another style (a martial arts freestyle consisting of taekwondo, jujitsu, and kickboxing. However, I'm just a lowly white belt in that style :(
TrailerParkJawa
Sith Acolyte

Post by TrailerParkJawa »

Aside from watching cantonese movies with highly stylized and movie oriented martial arts, no. I thought about it when I was kid but never took it up.

Its actually interesting, when I watch a some chinese movies we see people throw trees, shrink their penis, spit blood, freeze bodies by hitting nerve points, fly through the air, I always rationalize it by saying "dude they know kung-fu, it could happen."

But when Klingons attack with sharp objects, Im like "that is so moronic, where is my claymore." :-P

As an adult I like to ski and paintball.
Next of Kin
Rabid Monkey

Post by Next of Kin »

Its actually interesting, when I watch a some chinese movies we see people throw trees, shrink their penis, spit blood, freeze bodies by hitting nerve points, fly through the air, I always rationalize it by saying "dude they know kung-fu, it could happen."
One of my instructors always brags that he can suck his balls into his body cavity when kicking or punching. How the hell do you do that!?! :shock: And i've been studying for a while!
David
Moderator Emeritus

Post by David »

I do TKD. Unfortunately I haven't been improving much lately because I injured my knee and was out for three months. I've also ben working alot lately. I've been doing it for a year and a half now.
Pablo Sanchez
Commissar

Post by Pablo Sanchez »