Ships sizes. When is big too big?

SF: discuss futuristic sci-fi series, ideas, and crossovers.

Moderator: NecronLord

gigabytelord
Padawan Learner

Ships sizes. When is big too big?

Post by gigabytelord »

Someone on DeviantArt Compiled a fairly interesting list of spaceships from a huge number of different Sci-Fi universes, And while looking at it an interesting question popped into my head.

Linkage

When is big too big? I mean take a look at that list and it seems as though everyone is in a race to write the biggest ship into existence. As a wannabe Sci-fi writer myself I sometimes wonder just how far can you plausibly go before things start to get absurd.

On the other end of the spectrum is it even an issue at all? Does it even matter as long as the story itself is worth reading?
Just looking for opinions.
Grandmaster Jogurt
Jedi Council Member

Re: Ships sizes. When is big too big?

Post by Grandmaster Jogurt »

In a visual medium, one thing that's important is some sort of sense that the size matches the appearance. Several of the ships on there, especially from 40k and EVE, are absolutely huge but look like ships that should be much smaller, like a tenth of the length, and this detracts from the whole thing. It lessens the sense of scale and takes you out of the picture for a moment. Or maybe that's just me?

One thing that's probably inarguably bad as an example is the Dominion ships seen there where you have one 1.5km long and one 4.5km long... and they look identical. It's something that's very obvious and easy to point out but it's the same situation as before.

In a purely textual medium, it's probably a lot easier to not worry about little details like that. In all situations it's a case where "if what you're trying to tell us is good that's what matters", but there's fewer options to make things niggle I guess.
FTeik
Jedi Council Member

Post by FTeik »