Why is the First Cause Argument Flawed?

SLAM: debunk creationism, pseudoscience, and superstitions. Discuss logic and morality.

Moderator: Alyrium Denryle

EvilGrey
Fundamentalist Moron

Why is the First Cause Argument Flawed?

Post by EvilGrey »

I've heard this claim made many times by atheists, often citing erroneous reasons and employing strawmans. I'm curious as to what the denizens of this BBS think. :)
Gil Hamilton
Tipsy Space Birdie

Post by Gil Hamilton »

Give a definition of the argument, please, and then I'd be more than willing to poke holes in it.
"Show me an angel and I will paint you one." - Gustav Courbet

"Quetzalcoatl, plumed serpent of the Aztecs... you are a pussy." - Stephen Colbert

"Really, I'm jealous of how much smarter than me he is. I'm not an expert on anything and he's an expert on things he knows nothing about." - Me, concerning a bullshitter
Yuri Prime
Padawan Learner

Re: Why is the First Cause Argument Flawed?

Post by Yuri Prime »

EvilGrey wrote:I've heard this claim made many times by atheists, often citing erroneous reasons and employing strawmans. I'm curious as to what the denizens of this BBS think. :)
Please give examples of these "strawmans'" before you make a sweeping statement.
I don't go to mythical places with strange men.
-Douglas Adams

Evil Liberal Conspiracy. Taking away your guns since 1987.
EvilGrey
Fundamentalist Moron

Post by EvilGrey »

Yuri Prime wrote:
EvilGrey wrote:I've heard this claim made many times by atheists, often citing erroneous reasons and employing strawmans. I'm curious as to what the denizens of this BBS think. :)
Please give examples of these "strawmans'" before you make a sweeping statement.
Please discuss the topic as I have declared it. :)

EDIT: I'll get back to you guys later.
Alyrium Denryle
Minister of Sin

Post by Alyrium Denryle »

They cannot discuss the topic as you have declared it dumbass, because theyhave no reference point. We have nothing to refer to.