Computer doing weird things.

GEC: Discuss gaming, computers and electronics and venture into the bizarre world of STGODs.

Moderator: Thanas

The Romulan Republic
Emperor's Hand

Computer doing weird things.

Post by The Romulan Republic »

Okay, so, my computer (Windows 10 desktop) started doing some weird shit tonight. It often does weird shit, some of which is probably normal shit I just don't understand because I'm not a techie person, and I take it for granted that almost that any computer that hasn't been in for maintainance recently has some malware on it, these days, but this was particularly troubling to me.

First, it wouldn't shut down. I tried multiple times to shut down, and it seemed to turn off when I clicked shutdown, but then came back on on the login screen as though I was restarting it. I paid close attention to make sure I wasn't hitting restart by mistake. I wasn't.

Shortly thereafter, I noted that Bluetooth (which I always have off) had somehow turned itself on. The only thing I can think of is that I might have somehow turned it on when I was checking my internet settings, and accidentally put it on airplane mode for a moment. But I don't know if that would explain.

So now I'm worried my computer has been hacked, that some hacker turned on my Bluetooth so they can do God knows what with it, and I'm afraid to leave it on but also afraid to turn it off because it won't shut down and if I pull the plug while its still on, that could fuck it up even more.

I can't find much information online on Bluetooth turning itself on on a Windows 10, so I'm wondering if anyone has had this happen to them before and what might have caused it.