Can someone explain this (computing stuff)

SLAM: debunk creationism, pseudoscience, and superstitions. Discuss logic and morality.

Moderator: Alyrium Denryle

mr friendly guy
The Doctor
Location: In a 1960s police telephone box somewhere in Australia

Can someone explain this (computing stuff)

Post by mr friendly guy »

I got this on another message board I go to. It was posted by a guy who tries to get us to switch to linux, weary of google because they spy on us etc. I am not sure if that means this article is bullshit, but since I am not an expert I was hoping to get information from those who are more versed in computing.

link
I recommend to click on the link because it buttresses the article with numerous graphics, which I am not going to load on this site.
ICube UPU, the next step in processor evolution?
Reported by Nebojsa Novakovic on Friday, January 13 2012 4:34 pm

Any processor guru will tell you - It's very difficult to prop up a new instruction set architecture, even after going through all the technical difficulties, as the whole software stack has to be created from scratch: BIOS, compilers, libraries, operating system porting, drivers, basic applications, not to mention convincing the critical third-party software vendors to actually support the new architecture. All this requires substantial engineering, marketing and financial resources, not to mention a lot of guts.

Ever since Alpha in 1991, there was no new major instruction set architecture to appear in the general market. In fact, since then, most of the non-X86 architectures disappeared from the scene, leaving the X86 - even though widely agreed to be technically the worst - as the pre-dominant one. Power and Sparc still keep a part of the server field, while ARM is, of course, the king of the hill right now in the mobile arena, with its old RISC competitor, MIPS, making some inroads as well.