I, Voldemort (Harry Potter SI-ish).

UF: Stories written by users, both fanfics and original.

Moderator: LadyTevar

The Romulan Republic
Emperor's Hand

I, Voldemort (Harry Potter SI-ish).

Post by The Romulan Republic »

I've never done an Self-Insert story before, and in truth this isn't really one either. I know myself well enough to know I'd make a shitty protagonist for this story. But I did want to explore the idea of an ordinary person from our world just finding themselves in a fictional character's shoes- in this case, the title should make it pretty obvious whos' shoes.

Disclaimer: I don't own Harry Potter, etc. No money is being made off this story.

I, Voldemort.

Pain.

Well, "pain" doesn't remotely describe it. I'm not sure that any words could- the pure, bone-deep agony of being ripped from your body, your mind adrift in an icy black. Slowly, I became aware of light, faint, but present. An acrid smell, and something warm and wet, bubbling around me and against my skin. I tried to stand, stumbled, reached out for balance and found my hands clutching a curving surface of rough metal. I looked down. I blinked.

I was standing up to my waist in bubbling liquid, inside a giant metal pot.

My hands were pale, almost white, and the fingers were far too long.

Not a pot. A cauldron. I looked up. Through the vapours that rose from the cauldron I could see shadowy shapes. I blinked again, trying to focus. My eyes were much better than they had been, I realized. Of course, this is a dream. But somehow, I knew it wasn't. It just felt... too real, every sensation sharper and more solid than I could ever remember feeling in a dream. Maybe its just a deeper dream, and I won't remember it when I wake up. That must be it. But even then, I knew that my mind was grasping at straws.

The fumes began to clear. I could see the shapes more clearly now.

Gravestones.

And I realized where I was.

Who I was.