Question about making fanfics

UF: Stories written by users, both fanfics and original.

Moderator: LadyTevar

kilopi505
Padawan Learner

Question about making fanfics

Post by kilopi505 »

What do I do if I want to make a fanfic, but many of my characters are ones that other people have made originally in their own fanfics? And what if I just can't make the story good. I have an idea, but it's so...well...I don't know how to make a fight scene. I am not good at making characters talk. And even the scenes...I just can't make them sequentially. Do I just give up on my idea?
Murazor
Jedi Council Member

Re: Question about making fanfics

Post by Murazor »

kilopi505 wrote:What do I do if I want to make a fanfic, but many of my characters are ones that other people have made originally in their own fanfics? And what if I just can't make the story good. I have an idea, but it's so...well...I don't know how to make a fight scene. I am not good at making characters talk. And even the scenes...I just can't make them sequentially. Do I just give up on my idea?
I won't touch the legal component of this question, since more likely than not I won't get it right.

However, I can tell you that the fanfic community in general frowns strongly upon use of original characters not your own (there is a rather hypocritical statement that goes 'steal from your betters, not from your peers'). If you are going to use the characters/concepts of another fanfic author always try to get their permission or, at the very least, include a line or two acknowledging that the stuff you are using is not your idea.

It might just save you some grief down the road, particularly in places with strong anti-plagiarism rules like SD.net itself.