What would the villain's corpse do to Earth?(5th Element)

SF: discuss futuristic sci-fi series, ideas, and crossovers.

Moderator: NecronLord

FaxModem1
Emperor's Hand

What would the villain's corpse do to Earth?(5th Element)

Post by FaxModem1 »

Inspired by the Bill O'Reily and tides thread.

After the events of The Fifth Element, what would happen to the Earth after it has received a new moon so close in orbit?
Rabid
Jedi Knight

Re: What would the villain's corpse do to Earth?(5th Element

Post by Rabid »

Well, instead of having a 2-body system like before, where the two body turn around their common center of gravity ; You now have a 3-body system.

Now, I'm no expert in astronomy/astrophysics, but from the little knowledge I have gathered, a 3-body system like the one described in the film seems non-viable :

You have a a Satellite like half the size of the moon orbiting at less than 1000 Km of the earth crust, possibly with a retrograde, elliptic, and polar orbit (we can't know from what was seen in the movie : they just stopped it when it was about to crash directly on earth - after that, it just hover in the skies...).

Depending on the orbital parameters of the new body, one of the three bodies could either be expelled of the system (leaving a new 2-bodies system) ; or two of three bodies could collide.

As far as I know, with such little difference in mass between the three bodies, and the "altitude" of the new moon around earth (it flies VERY low, far less than the geosynchronous orbit), the system is unstable.

Basically, that's a case of Endor Holocaust, unless they use some technomagical-babble to put the new moon on a better orbit.

Hmm... Good question, that ! Imagining that you could put this object on the orbit you want, where would you put it ?

Object characteristic :

- Roughly the same density as the Moon, maybe a bit more
- 1/2 to 2/3 of the size of the Moon
- Spherical shape, homogeneous repartition of mass in the body assumed