Green Lantern Question

FAN: Discuss various fictional worlds that don't qualify for SF.

Moderator: Steve

Panzersharkcat
Jedi Council Member

Green Lantern Question

Post by Panzersharkcat »

Because I like overthinking things, I wonder why the Guardians made it so you could just slip a power ring off a Green Lantern's finger. That seems like a gaping security flaw. The ring generates a protective aura around the Lantern. You'd think it'd extend over itself and prevent itself from being forcibly removed. I could kind of see Superman pulling it off but not Batman or Robin. Also, since I started playing DCUO and rewatched the intro cinematic, I wonder why covering up a Green Lantern's ring the way Black Adam did (and Deathstroke in Identity Crisis) would force them into a willpower battle. It should just electrocute the idiot who tries that. I did see one suggestion, though, that Black Adam was crushing Hal's hand and keeping him from concentrating or using the ring to blast him. I also think a Green Lantern should be able to pull off "heat vision" if he/she wanted to since it could be seen as an extension of the aura's energy coming out of the eyes. (I suppose you could do it from the ass like a green fart attack but that seems silly.) I feel like Green Lantern should be the most offensively powerful and versatile member of the Justice League, most powerful weapon in the universe and all. Is there an in-universe reason besides the Guardians are idiots? So yeah, answer these, rip my assumptions apart, answer them while ripping my assumptions apart.
"I'm just reading through your formspring here, and your responses to many questions seem to indicate that you are ready and willing to sacrifice realism/believability for the sake of (sometimes) marginal increases in gameplay quality. Why is this?"