I'm getting frustrated with learning Python 3

GEC: Discuss gaming, computers and electronics and venture into the bizarre world of STGODs.

Moderator: Thanas

SolarpunkFan
Jedi Knight

I'm getting frustrated with learning Python 3

Post by SolarpunkFan »

So I'm trying to learn programming (for the billionth time it seems...) and I'm really frustrated.

I've had some success in learning concepts (statements, functions, variables, even some rudimentary understanding of arrays and objects, though not the syntactical usage of them via Python 3 yet). At the same time I'm feeling frustration over the fact that I'm not building interesting stuff with what I know.

The book I'm using is Python for the Absolute Beginner (3rd edition) by Michael Dawson. But it's rather verbose and I feel like it's a slog to get through and the challenges at the end of each chapter aren't all that interesting to me. I tried *Learn Python 3 in Y Minutes* but the syntax examples seem a little isolated insofar as where to use them in a program (again, my understanding of syntactical and language-specific quirks/pitfalls are far behind my conceptual understanding :banghead: ).

Are there any programmers here who can suggest what I should do about these problems? Are there resources out there that can help? Should I do what a friend suggested and switch over to Second Life scripting for a while? Or should I just quit the idea of learning programming altogether?
Seeing current events as they are is wrecking me emotionally. So I say 'farewell' to this forum. For anyone who wonders.
TheFeniX
Sith Marauder

Re: I'm getting frustrated with learning Python 3

Post by TheFeniX »