Baltimore Protests and Riots

N&P: Discuss governments, nations, politics and recent related news here.

Moderators: Alyrium Denryle, Edi, K. A. Pital

Elaro
Padawan Learner

Baltimore Protests and Riots

Post by Elaro »

http://www.cbc.ca/news/world/state-of-e ... -1.3051048
Protesters hurled bricks, looted businesses and set fires in Baltimore on Monday in violence that injured at least seven police officers following the funeral of a 25-year-old black man who died after he was injured in police custody.

The riots broke out just a few blocks from the funeral of Freddie Gray and then spread through parts of Baltimore in the most violent U.S. demonstrations since looting in Ferguson, Mo., last year.

"I'm a lifelong resident of Baltimore," Mayor Stephanie Rawlings-Blake said in a Tuesday evening news conference. "Too many people have spent generations building up this city for it to be destroyed by thugs, who in a very senseless way are trying to tear down what so many have fought for."

Rawlings-Blake said she was in touch with the governor and has asked for the National Guard. She said "every resource possible" will be deployed to gain control of the situation.

Starting tomorrow, there will be a citywide curfew from 10 p.m. to 5 a.m., she said, lasting one week and to be extended as needed.

USA-POLICE/BALTIMORE
Rioters in Baltimore damaged vehicles, ransacked stores and set fires after violent clashes between young demonstrators and police erupted following the funeral of Freddie Gray, who died from a spinal injury sustained in police custody. (Shannon Stapleton/Reuters)

The news conference came not long after Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan declared a state of emergency, activated the state's National Guard and sent additional state troopers to Baltimore.

An Orioles baseball game was cancelled and schools, businesses and train stations shut down in the city of 662,000 people 64 kilometres from the nation's capital.