Radio censorship & maintaining the integrity of music

AMP: sci-fi art, regular art, pictures, photos, comics, music, etc.

Moderator: Beowulf

Zaia
Inamorata

Radio censorship & maintaining the integrity of music

Post by Zaia »

Everyone knows that there are some words that the FCC forbids on freewave radio, like "fuck" and "shit" (although "bitch" is ok? Eh, whatev). However, radio stations deal with this problem in different ways. Some radio stations remix the song so that the offensive word is 1) dropped (the vocals blank but everything else intact), 2) replaced by a garbled mess, 3) replaced by a sound effect, 4) replaced by ye olde "bleep," or 5) the little part of the song that contains the offensive word is simply cut out.

As a musician, I have a HUGE problem with #5. It's bad enough to mess with a song too much when polishing it up for radio, which is why #1 above is the best possible option in my opinion, since you aren't altering the song as much. But to CUT OUT part of the music?! You're tapping your foot to the beat, and then all of a sudden, you're totally off. No, not because you have no rhythm (well, that may be the case for some of you), but because every time Green Day sings the lines "Read between the lines/What's fucked up and everything's alright," that measure suddenly has 3 1/2 beats in it instead of 4 when they (read: fucking lameass DC101) just cut out the word "fucked" and all the music that goes with it.

Who's brilliant fucking idea was it to abandon all the other methods of censoring offensive lyrics and destroy the entire song? I can't listen to DC101 now because they so butcher their goddamn songs. You know the end of System of a Down's "BYOB?" Same thing! A bunch of 3 1/2 beat measures in a 4/4 song because they sing 'fuck' too many times.